Several of Bath’s Georgian houses hide a fascinating Stuart past from the century before.
An example of this phenomenon is the 'The Bunch of Grapes' public house at 14 Westgate Street and number 15 next door.
Prior to a Georgian facelift in 1720 these two buildings were in fact one house. The first floor drawing room has the only Jacobean plasterwork ceiling in Bath (apart from Bath Abbey vestry), and even some Jacobean panelling has survived.
It is believed the house was built by Richard Gay, four times Mayor, and M.P. for Bath in 1626.
Records show it has been a wine-merchant’s or tavern for nearly three hundred years.
Images: Copyright Bath Records Office - BRO PX515